Artist: Teresa Teng
Album: Volume I
Publisher: Universal (works together with Hugo Productions)
Recording Technology: LPCD45

About this album:
This is my first LPCD45 album. I bought it around S$ 39 (forget the exact price) at Singapore. Currently, there are 3 volume of Teresa Teng’s album in LPCD45, but this one (Volume I) contains most popular Teresa’s song. So I picked this one.

Overall, this CD contains almost all popular old Teresa Teng’s song. Track #2 is the popular “Ye Liang Tai Piaw Wo Te Sin” (月亮代表我的心) and track #8 is Thien Mi Mi (甜蜜蜜). You can read the rest on the track list at the end of this page. Finally, I can have an album that contains all good track inside. Really nice, since I used to be Teresa’s fan. I don’t have to tell you much about the album because if you love Teresa’s song, then this album will give you 100% satisfaction.

The sound quality itself can be considered good. The vocal is very sweet and liquid. The treble is soft, warm, transparant, but not harsh or bright. The low extension is tight, well rounded. I also listen other LPCD45 and they are have similiar quality and characteristics.

But, since almost all Teresa’s songs most likely are old songs (perhaps recorded on 80’s or 90’s), you can’t expect the finest details like newer recording. The limitation is there and we can’t do any better. So, I feel the details of this album is somehow not on the the finest level (I love the musicality, but I expect a little bit extra in details). Again, we have to understand because this is actually old songs remastered to a new album. The rule is there, you can’t create from something that doesn’t exist. The recording technology on that era is not as good as current recording technology. If only we can bring back Teresa alives and sings with Neumann or AKG tube microphone 😉

Beside its small weakness on detail aspect, this is an excellent album for you who want to get “almost all” popular Teresa’s song. Again, I praise Teresa’s sweet and liquid vocal on this album. Play it with tube amplifier like 300B or 2A3 and full range speakers, you will want to listen this album again and again. I’m using solid state and 2-way speaker though 😉

Though it may not be the finest album in terms of details, this is a must have recording for you who love Teresa’s song. The sweet, liquid, and Teresa’s unique vocal are well expressed in this album. No one can replace her sweet voice. You name Sammy, Liu Fang, Huang Hong Ying, Chen Lily, and others who sing Teresa’s song, but Teresa is still irreplaceable in the music history.

Sound Quality: 4 of 5 Stars
Song Popularity/Arrangement (subjective): 4.25 of 5 Stars

Recommendation: 4 of 5 stars.

Track list:
1. 小城故事
2. 月亮代表我的心
3. 一封情書
4. 千言萬語
5. 何日君再來
6. 難忘初戀情人
7. 忘記他【粵】
8. 甜蜜蜜
9. 淚的小雨
10. 初次嚐到寂寞
11. 情人的關懷
12. 絲絲小雨
13. 漫步人生路【粵】
14. 愛的箴言
15. 奈何
16. 微風細雨
17. 遙遠的路
18. 愛像一首歌
19. 空港【日】
20. 雪化粧【日】