Artist: Susan Wong Chui Shan
Album: Close To You (1st album)
Publisher: Rock In Music
Recording Technology: N/A

About this album:
No one knows Susan Wong (Wong Chui Shan) before. Until she released her first album (this one). I bought this CD on 16 May 2003 (hey I kept the invoice on every CD that I bought).

Susan and her producer (Keith Yip & Mark Ho Lun) were very smart. They chose popular songs on this album. Just mention some of them, “Killing Me Softly”, “Close to You”, “Love Will Keep Us Alive”, “Do That to Me One More Time”, and “Desperado”. I believe it doest take a genius to enjoy her album.

To tell you the truth, her voice is not so special but unique and easily identified. Don’t expect a heavy voice like Keiko Lee, angelic voice like Judy Collins or Radka Toneff, or high octaves like Joan Baez. In my opinion, her voice is typical of a pop singer – nothing special. But she sings with emotion and smart in terms of understanding the flow of the song. I think this is the different between her and others.

And another advantage is her producers were smart to create a good arrangement. On the first song, the saxophone after the intro sounds so emotional. Slow jazz is the main idea of all arrangement in this album.

This is an easy listening album. Very good to refresh all of your mind, while you don’t want to think about how to enjoy the music.

The recording quality is average. A little bit dull in mid-hi and high extension. I will not recommend this album as a reference, unless you really know how it should sounds 🙂 But if you are looking for a nice album to be enjoyed anytime and anywhere, this is the one that you should get.

Old songs in new arrangement. The producers know how to optimize Susan’s character. Simply you will be captivated with the way she sings the old song in new arrangement. But as reference, this CD has no specialty in terms of recording quality. You better know the album’s character well before using it as your reference. Recommended for you who want to hear old song like “Love Will Keep Us Alive” or “Desperado” in new fashion and sang by a woman (not the guys from Eagles).

Sound Quality: 3.5 of 5 Stars
Song Popularity/Arrangement (subjective): 4.5 of 5 Stars

Recommendation: 4 of 5 Stars

Track list:
1. Killing Me Softly
2. I’m Easy
3. Fly Me To The Moon
4. Close To You
5. Love Will Keep Us Alive
6. Stay Awhile
7. Do You Wanna Dance
8. This Masquerade
9. Do That To Me One More Time
10. Desperado
11. I Just Fall In Love Again